Honours and awards

  • Help
  • Find
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Traductions :
  • Voir la page en français
  • Ver esta página en español
You are here:

Honours and awards

Honours and prizes awarded to UPPA teachers and researchers


  • David Grégoire and Gilles Pijaudier-Cabot, lecturers and researchers at LFCR, were appointed Junior member and Senior member of the Institut Universitaire de France

Medals from the CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research)

  • Silver medal: Ryszard Lobinski, LCABIE-IPREM, 2006
  • Bronze medal: Xavier Arnauld de Sartre, SET, 2008
  • Bronze medal: Karinne Miqueu, IPREM, 2010

National or international awards (since 2005)2010

  • The Physical chemistry division's Instrumentation prize was awarded to Christophe Pecheyran (IPREM), by the French Physics Society (SFP) and the French Chemical Society (SCF).


  • Gilles Khan prize awarded to Z. Liao (LFC), by the Academy of Sciences,
  • Pierre-Henri Teitgen thesis prize awarded to L. Malo (CDRE),
  • Environment and technical prize awarded to Gaétane Lespes, Martine Potin and Isabelle Le Hecho (IPREM), by Pollutec/ADEME,
  • Analysis and measurement prize awarded to Laurent Authier and Martine Potin, by Pollutec/ADEME.


  • Thesis prize awarded to L. Martinez Casas (LFC), by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry,
  • Student Travel Award given to S. Berlendis (IPREM), by the ISSM Conference,
  • Innovative Techniques for the Environment Award given to the LGE team, by Pollutec.


Honorary degree, Doctor Honoris causa

The title of Doctor Honoris Causa is one of the most prestigious distinctions awarded by France's higher education institutions. Its purpose is to honour "people of other nationalities in recognition of their distinguished services to Sciences, Humanities and the Arts, to France or to the higher education institution awarding the title".

Since its creation, the University of Pau and the Adour Region has attributed the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to scientists of non-French origin, whose commitment and accomplished works are in line with the spirit of the University.

UPPA's Doctors Honoris Causa

7 novembre 2015
His Excellency Evo Morales Ayma, President of the Plurinational State of Bolivia.

9 November, 2011
Prof. Marcel POPA, Professor of Chemistry at the "Gheorghe Asachi" Technical University of Iasi (Romania)

2 October, 2007
Dr. Noémi GIRBAL BLACHA, Professor of History at the La Plata and Quilmes universities - Argentina
10 October, 2005
Dr. Bernard PHILOGENE, Professor of the Faculty of Science at the University of Ottawa (Canada)
Prof. Mieczyslaw MAKOSZA, Professor of the Polish Academy of Sciences - University of Warsaw (Poland)
5 May, 2004
Elena PONIATOWSKA, Author (Mexico)
23 October, 2001
Mario VARGAS LLOSA, Author (Peru)
2 February, 1996
Dr. Francisco Javier HERNANDEZ, Professor of French at the University of Valladolid (Spain)
Dr. Jesus Ildefonso DIAZ, Professor of Applied Mathematics at the Complutense University of Madrid (Spain)
9 January, 1996
Dr. Jorge MIRANDA, Professor of Legal and Political Sciences at the University of Lisbon (Portugal)
26 May, 1988
Prof. Cherif BASSIOUNI, Professor of Law at DePaul University, Chicago (USA)